Oklahoma Community Credit Union is continuing its commitment to north central Oklahoma by launching a new fund that will support educational opportunities, financial literacy, food insecurities, healthy living and housing needs.

OK Community Cares, a donor advised fund of the Cornerstone Foundation, will begin accepting grant applications immediately from qualifying organizations located in Payne, Pawnee, Noble, Logan and Lincoln counties.

“Being involved in the communities we serve is a key principle credit union’s follow and I am excited that Oklahoma Community Credit Union will be able to further our commitment to our service area by starting OK Community Cares,” stated Daniel Thrasher, President/CEO of Oklahoma Community Credit Union. “When the communities we serve are strong, then our members have great places to live, work and attend school, making our credit union strong too.”

The fund was established by the Oklahoma Community board of directors and initially funded through credit union revenues over the past two years.  The fund will be held by the Cornerstone Foundation, the charitable arm of the Cornerstone League, which supports member credit unions of Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Texas.

The credit union’s board of directors has appointed a seven-person committee to oversee the grant fund and review grant applications.  Ben Dyson, Lindy Zamborsky and Carly Waren serve as at large committee members, Colby Cagle is the board representative of the committee and Kaylin Easter will represent the credit union’s employee group.  Thrasher, along with AVP of Accounting Megan Stone, will serve as non-voting committee members.

“One of the key reasons I decided to run for the credit union board was to help us be more engaged in the communities in our entire service area,” Cagle said, who also serves as Vice Chair of the board.  “Concern for community is one of the eight principles we follow as a financial cooperative and it’s important for us to find ways to give back.”

Eligibility requirements, applications deadlines, distribution timelines, and donation information can be found online at okcommunitycu.com/ok-community-cares or by contacting Hana Kimberling at 405.533.5172. Oklahoma Community members, volunteers, employees and residents may contribute to the OK Community Cares fund and will receive a tax receipt for their donation.

OK Community Cares is a donor advised fund part of Oklahoma Community Credit Union, a federally chartered credit union headquartered in Stillwater, OK. Established in 1968, Oklahoma Community serves a five-county area in north central Oklahoma which includes, Payne, Pawnee, Noble, Logan and Lincoln counties.